McCallie Wrestlers Host Baylor Tonight

89th Meeting - 6:30 p.m.

Friday, January 24, 2014 - by B.B. Branton

Tonight it’s the 89th edition of McCallie-Baylor Wrestling. The oldest and most storied prep wrestling rivalry in the state and one of the best in the South.

The usual standing-room only crowd is expected as No.3 Baylor is heavy favorite over host McCallie at 6:30 p.


Quick Facts

No.3 Baylor (18-7, 1-1) vs. No. 7 McCallie (8-3, 0-2)

Site: McCallie

Gates Open: 5 p.m.

Time: 6:30 p.m.

Broadcast: McCallie School web site (6:10 p.m.)

Series: 89th Meeting: Baylor, 48-40 … First Matches: Jan. 1946

D-II Region Record: Father Ryan (3-0), Baylor (1-1), MBA (1-1), McCallie (0-2), Brentwood Academy (0-1)

Overview: The two prep schools are known for their dominance of the Mid-South Assoc. (1949-1970), but they also competed for a City Championship in the 1940s with other local schools sponsored by the downtown Frye Institute ... Baylor’s program began in the 1930s under coach V.O. Jones who wrestled at Duke ... McCallie did compete in the City Tournament in the early 1940s with a few wrestlers, but 1945-46 was the first full season.

Baylor: The Red Raiders are led by state champions Michael Murphy (113), Tate Robinson (138), Bryson Popp (160) and Ryan Parker (182)

McCallie: The Blue Tornado have state champs in Adam Connell (138) and Nathan Hoodenpyle (182)

Key Match-Ups: 138 – state champions Tate Robinson (Baylor, 24-3) vs. Adam Connell (McCalie, 36-2… Robinson beat Connell 8-2 at the McCallie Invitational

182 – state champions Ryan Parker (Baylor, 28-3) vs. Nathan Hoodenpyle  (McCallie, 33-4)… Hoodenpyle won in the McCallie Invitational, 7-5 in overtime

220 – Jay Roberts (McCallie) vs. Jon Schmissrauter (Baylor, 23-9) … Roberts won in the McCallie Invitational, 6-5

Looking Back … 8 Past Matches at McCallie

Four Gyms: SAC, Killebrew, Davenport, Old Gym

These two programs have had nine coaches – four in the national wrestling HOF – McCallie’s Col. David Spencer and Gordon Connell and Baylor’s Luke Worsham and Jim Morgan

1954 – Baylor 22, McCallie 18 … Red Raiders open the season with a four point win … McCallie wins six of the first nine weights to lead 18-9, but visiting Baylor wins the final three matches, including pins by Don Denning (191) and Bill Healy (Hwt) … McCallie victors include Howell Clements, Franklin Barnwell  

1959 – McCallie 30, Baylor 16 … matches back in the day were 3:30 p.m. on Fridays … McCallie wins both duals; this on in Davenport Gym …. Pat Smartt leads McCallie to the win and later to a second straight Mid-South title … this would be McCallie’s last win at home until Jan. 1966 … Smartt goes on to be a national prep champ and NCAA ll-American at Lehigh

1974 – Baylor 22, McCallie 18 … McCallie had won four straight in the series … key to the win is Baylor winning 4 of 5, 1-point matches … The Jones brothers (Tom and Robby) both post decisions for the Blue Tornado an Pollack Boyd records a fall … Errliy similar to the 1954 win, McCallie leads 18-13 with three matches to go … Baylor gains nine points with one point wins from Andy Stockett, Mike Shuford and  David Hannah for the victory … On the same day Father Ryan with Pat Simpson and Mike Hooker beat East Ridge, 21-20 … While the local wrestling fans enjoyed two great matches, a national television audience saw Notre Dame upset visiting UCLA to snap the Bruins 88-game win streak.

1978 – Baylor 35, McCallie 16 … last win at McCallie for Baylor coach Luke Worsham … Baylor also wins the state title … Red Raiders (7-1) stun previously unbeaten McCallie (7-1) with pins from Bill Barbee (105), John Stout (126), Bo Watson (145) and Doug Dyer (Hwt) … McCallie wins came from Charlie Key (98), Robert Devine (119), Chris St. Charles (132) and Rob Huffaker (185).

1982 – McCallie 33, Baylor 17 … first win at McCallie for coach Gordon Connell … Blue Tornado would win the state traditional title … wrestling in Killebrew Gym, Garrison Martin put McCallie up 6-0 with a fall at 98 pounds and the hosts are never headed … Blue Tornado leads 14-11 after six matches … then wins the next five, including a pin from Bill Oldham (155) and  a high scoring win by Danny Ayers (145, 16-10) … Baylor is led by Will Scruggs, Bill Scott, Steve Reynolds and Mark McCrory.

1991- McCallie 40, Baylor 15 … nationally-ranked McCallie with state champs David Vance and George Lewis … second of four straight traditional and duals state championships … match is tied at 12-12 after six matches, but the hosts sweep the next five weights (140-171) for an insurmountable lead and the win; Lewis, Vance, John Wunderlich, Jason Roberts and Michel Bowen had the McCallie victories. 

2004 – McCallie 37, Baylor 26 … McCallie trails 19-6 after five matches, but bounces back when freshmen twins Joe and Will Young posted a fall and decision against Baylor seniors … McCallie clinched the win by sweeping the final three matches b Ryan Scott, Andrew Smith and Spencer Manley … Baylor winners include Corey and Tim Manson and Jordan Leen.

 2012 – Baylor 42, McCallie 21 … Zach Watson, Brandon Brunner, Bryson Popp and Alex Matt Bodine have pins for Baylor, while Alex Ward had the lone fall for McCallie … the two teams each had a one point win and McCallie’s Adam Connell won in overtime.

contact B.B. Branton at

Prep Football Picks: Week One

Dalton State Basketball Boosters To Hold Fundraiser Sept. 19

The Dalton State Roadrunners Men’s Basketball Booster Club will hold a “Four-Man Scramble” golf tournament at Nob North Golf Course on Friday, Sept. 19. Club spokesman Lamar McClure said it will be a day of golf and fellowship to show support for Roadrunners basketball. Entry fee for the event is $500 per team or $125 for individuals. An additional $25 in advance can purchase ... (click for more)

Plan Revived For 5-Story Boutique Hotel Next To The Walnut Street Bridge

Plans have been revived for a five-story boutique hotel next to the Walnut Street Bridge. Vision Hospitality Group said the yet-to-be named hotel will provide 90 rooms featuring high-end amenities and exemplary service in the city's art district. Plans for a similar hotel were announced in 2012, but the proposal was later withdrawn. The hotel is slated for 102 Walnut ... (click for more)

Grand Jury Says County Needs To Start "Immediately" On Funding A New County Jail

Members of the Hamilton County Grand Jury said in a final report that the county needs to start "immediately" on funding a replacement for the Hamilton County Jail. The report, read by Foreman Robert Smith, says, "The Jail is near and/or over capacity and understaffed!  Hard-working corrections officers are in constant danger.  Being responsible for 80-100 inmates per ... (click for more)

Thanks For Making The Southern Brewers Festival A Success

Now that the dust has settled I'd like to thank Chattanooga for supporting the Southern Brewers Festival and making it yet another very successful event.    For those who do not know - the SBF benefits the Chattanooga chapter of Kids on the Block and the Chattanooga Community Kitchen.  As a partner helping the SBF with volunteers, sponsorships and the overall production ... (click for more)

Roy Exum: Al Sharpton’s Wise Remarks

I’ll admit I paid little more than scant attention to the Monday funeral of Michael Brown, the 18-year-old who was shot and killed by police bullets in Ferguson, Mo., after he allegedly was involved in strong-armed robbery. There are too many tawdry details and, in my way of thinking, there is nothing under God’s sun, absolutely nothing, that gives others the right to riot, burn ... (click for more)