Strong Winds, Freezing Temperatures In Chattanooga Forecast; Growers Advised To Take Precautions With Young Crops

Tuesday, April 15, 2014

A cold front with strong winds was moving into the Chattanooga area today and was set to bring freezing temperatures overnight.

Area growers were advised to take precautions with their young crops.

Temperatures were expected to drop into the 20s.

Here is the freeze warning:

...WIND ADVISORY IN EFFECT FROM 8 AM EDT /7 AM CDT/ THIS MORNING TO 8 PM EDT /7 PM CDT/ THIS EVENING... ...FREEZE WARNING IN EFFECT FROM 10 PM EDT /9 PM CDT/ THIS EVENING TO 10 AM EDT /9 AM CDT/ WEDNESDAY.

.. THE NATIONAL WEATHER SERVICE IN MORRISTOWN HAS ISSUED A FREEZE WARNING...WHICH IS IN EFFECT FROM 10 PM EDT /9 PM CDT/ THIS EVENING TO 10 AM EDT /9 AM CDT/ WEDNESDAY. A WIND ADVISORY HAS ALSO BEEN ISSUED. THIS WIND ADVISORY IS IN EFFECT FROM 8 AM EDT /7 AM CDT/ THIS MORNING TO 8 PM EDT /7 PM CDT/ THIS EVENING. * EVENT...STRONG WINDS BEHIND A COLD FRONT WILL PUSH INTO THE REGION...WITH WINDS 15 TO 25 MPH AND GUSTY. A WIDESPREAD HARD FREEZE...WITH LOW TEMPERATURES DROPPING INTO THE 20S AND LOW 30S OVER MUCH OF THE REGION. A WIDESPREAD FROST IS ALSO LIKELY. * TIMING...THE STRONGEST WINDS WILL BE THIS AFTERNOON...AND THE FREEZING TEMPERATURES WILL BE LATE TONIGHT INTO WEDNESDAY MORNING. * IMPACTS...AREA FRUIT TREES ARE BLOOMING...MAKING THEM HIGHLY SUSCEPTIBLE TO FREEZE DAMAGE. ADDITIONAL SPRING TIME FRUIT AND VEGETABLE CROPS...SUCH AS STRAWBERRIES...ONIONS AND SPINACH ARE ALSO EXTREMELY VULNERABLE TO THESE SUBFREEZING CONDITIONS. AREA GROWERS WILL NEED TO TAKE PRECAUTIONS TO PREVENT DAMAGE TO THEIR CROPS. ADDITIONALLY...A WIDESPREAD FROST COULD DAMAGE OR KILL ANY FLOWERING PLANTS OR OTHER TENDER VEGETATION...IF THEY ARE NOT COVERED OR TAKEN INDOORS. PRECAUTIONARY/PREPAREDNESS ACTIONS... WINDS THIS STRONG CAN MAKE DRIVING DIFFICULT...ESPECIALLY FOR HIGH PROFILE VEHICLES... SO USE CAUTION WHEN DRIVING.


Dirt Decision At Camp Jordan May Come Back To Haunt East Ridge Councilmen

Wow. I thought the arrival of Bass Pro Shop would help bring East Ridge back to a position of prominence in the Chattanooga area, but the Council proved otherwise last night.  To the council - There is a reason that the developers want that dirt: It's valuable . You currently own it and the developer wants it. Bass Pro has already agreed to set up shop. They were going ... (click for more)

Farm To Table To Dollars

I recently hosted a discussion with local business leaders, Andy Berke, mayor of Chattanooga, and Heather McTeer Toney, southeast regional administrator for the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency. We had an important conversation about the role of the business community in combating climate change. As the owner of 212 Market Restaurant in downtown Chattanooga, I’ve experienced ... (click for more)

Moc Golfers Finish 10th At Tar Heel Intercollegiate

The Chattanooga Mocs men’s golf team finished 10th at the Tar Heel Intercollegiate today. The Mocs shot 871 over their 54 holes to end up ahead of Charlotte and Mercer in 11th and 12th, respectively. “We’re not pleased with this finish, but we are making progress,” said coach Mark Guhne. “We just didn’t get the low round on the second or third day. If we get that low round, we ... (click for more)

Lady Mocs Soccer Loses 6-0 At Vanderbilt

University of Tennessee at Chattanooga freshman keeper Hannah Dunn (Cookeville, Tenn.) made 16 saves in the Mocs 6-0 loss to Vanderbilt Sunday afternoon at the Vanderbilt Soccer/Lacrosse Complex. “Hannah was amazing,” UTC head coach J.D. Kyzer “There may have been just one or two shots that came right to her, but every other one she had to make the save and she showed up big.” ... (click for more)