SEC Bowl Assignments Announced

Nine SEC Schools Receive Bowl Locations

Sunday, December 3, 2017 - by special to The Chattanoogan.com

Nine Southeastern Conference football teams learned their post-season bowl destinations on Sunday, including No. 3-ranked Georgia which will play No. 2 Oklahoma in the Rose Bowl while No. 4-ranked Alabama will face No. 1 Clemson in the Sugar Bowl on January 1 in semifinal games for the College Football Playoff.

 

It marks the first time one conference has placed two teams in the CFP semifinals in the same season.

 

On Sunday, the College Football Playoff committee first selected teams for the national semifinal games, the Rose Bowl Game presented by Northwestern Mutual and the Allstate Sugar Bowl.

 The committee later announced the participants in the Chick-fil-A Peach Bowl, Capital One Orange Bowl, Goodyear Cotton Bowl and the PlayStation Fiesta Bowl.

 

In addition to Georgia and Alabama in the CFP semifinals, Auburn was selected to play in a CFP New Year’s Six Game, meeting UCF in the Chick-fil-A Peach Bowl on January 1.

 

Next, the Citrus Bowl presented by Overton selected LSU from the SEC to play Notre Dame.

 

This marks the fourth year the conference assigned league schools to an “SEC Bowl Pool” that includes the Belk Bowl in Charlotte, the Academy Sports & Outdoors Texas Bowl in Houston, the TaxSlayer Bowl in Jacksonville, the AutoZone Liberty Bowl in Memphis, the Franklin American Mortgage Music City Bowl in Nashville and the Outback Bowl in Tampa.

 

Missouri will play a Big 12 opponent in the AdvoCare V100 Texas Bowl, Texas A&M will play an ACC opponent in the Belk Bowl, Kentucky will play a Big Ten opponent in the Franklin American Mortgage Music City Bowl, Mississippi State will play an ACC opponent in the TaxSlayer Bowl and South Carolina will play a Big Ten opponent in the Outback Bowl.

 

Because three SEC teams were selected for New Year’s Six Games, and by agreement in the SEC Bowl Pool structure, a team from the SEC was not available to participate in the Liberty Bowl for this season.

 

The selection process for the SEC Bowl Pool was based on preferences expressed by the SEC’s bowl eligible schools, input from the SEC’s affiliated bowls, travel considerations, attention to previous matchups and additional relevant factors.

 

“The SEC Bowl Pool participants are determined after conversations with bowl partners and discussions with school personnel in order to create a lineup of compelling bowl games for our schools and their fans,” said SEC Commissioner Greg Sankey. “This process provides an opportunity to create intriguing matchups and varying assignments to help prevent repetitive postseason destinations.”

 

COLLEGE FOOTBALL PLAYOFF BOWLS

 

Chick-fil-A Peach Bowl (Atlanta) – Auburn vs. UCF – Jan. 1 – 12:30 pm ET / 11:30 am CT – ESPN

Rose Bowl Game presented by Northwestern Mutual – Georgia vs. Oklahoma – Jan. 1 – 5 pm ET / 4 pm CT - ESPN

Allstate Sugar Bowl (New Orleans) – Alabama vs. Clemson – Jan. 1 – 8:45 pm ET / 7:45 pm CT – ESPN

 

SEC-AFFILIATED BOWLS:

 

Citrus Bowl presented by Overton (Orlando) – LSU vs. Notre Dame – Jan. 1 – 1 pm ET / Noon CT – ABC

 

SEC Bowl Pool:

 

Academy Sports & Outdoors Texas Bowl (Houston) – Missouri vs. Big 12 – Dec. 27 – 9 pm ET / 8 pm CT – ESPN

Belk Bowl (Charlotte) – Texas A&M vs. ACC – Dec. 29 – 1 pm ET / Noon CT – ESPN

Franklin American Mortgage Music City Bowl (Nashville) – Kentucky vs. Big Ten - Dec. 29 – 4:30 pm ET / 3:30 pm CT – ESPN

TaxSlayer Bowl (Jacksonville) – Mississippi State vs. ACC – Dec. 30 – Noon ET / 11 am CT – ESPN

Outback Bowl (Tampa) – South Carolina vs. Big Ten – Jan. 1 – Noon ET / 11 am CT - ABC

 

 

(Contact Dennis Norwood at sportsshooter614@gmail.com; follow him on Twitter at @DennisENorwood) 


Rainout Forces Lookouts To Play Two Games Monday Beginning At 5:15 P.M.

The Lookouts and Biscuits game was suspended due to rain in the fourth game of their five-game series on Sunday afternoon at AT&T Field. The Lookouts had a 2-0 when the game was suspended. The game will be made up today (Monday), July 16 with the first game resuming at 5:15 p.m. ET at the start of the the third inning. The first game will go nine innings, and the second game ... (click for more)

Tennessean Scott Bloomquist Marks 600th Career Win

Tennessean Scott Bloomquist celebrated his 600th overall victory Saturday passing fellow Volunteer state racer leader Jimmy Owens on the 32nd lap and led the rest of the "CMH Diamond Nationals" at Lucas Oil Speedway in Missouri. Bloomquist's 600th career victory paid $12,000 as he took the checkers over Mason Zeigler. Bloomquist won for the second time this season at the ... (click for more)

Congressman Zach Wamp Endorses Bill Lee For Governor

Former Congressman Zach Wamp endorsed Bill Lee for governor on Monday. The endorsement from Congressman Wamp, coming after last week’s endorsement from the conservative Free Press Editorial Page at The Chattanooga Times Free Press, shows Lee has built tremendous momentum as early voting is underway right now.  “It is an honor to have the support of Congressman Zach ... (click for more)

Senator Watson And Rep. Hazlewood Ask TDOT To Move Swiftly On Highway 127 Road Project Up Signal Mountain

State Senator Bo Watson (R-Hixson) and Rep. Patsy Hazlewood (R-Signal Mountain) have asked the Tennessee Department of Transportation (TDOT) to move swiftly on the Highway 127 project leading up Signal Mountain. In a sternly-worded letter, the lawmakers asked TDOT Commissioner John Schroer to prioritize the road project due to further deterioration of the road. ... (click for more)

Here We Go Again With The Same Cummings Highway, 12th Street Flooding

Here we go again with the same pitiful news reports about the Cummings Highway Interstate interchange with I-24 - Flooding yet again after a heavy rain.  TDOT is derelict in not having repaired this years ago.  How hard is it to get some excavators out there to dig up the collapsed drainage pipes which TDOT says are the cause of the flooding and replace them with ... (click for more)

Deal With The Graffiti Vandals

I travel to other neat old cities and don't see nearly the graffiti vandalism as in Chattanooga. Why do we allow one or two or three repeat vandals to mar our venerable Walnut Street Bridge, the pillars to the Holmberg Bridge, the remodeled Chief John Ross Market Street Bridge, the walls along our multi-million-dollar Riverwalk, our sidewalks, street signs and our old limestone ... (click for more)