Smith Fuel Disqualification Gives Tazewell UCRA Victory To Shannon

  • Sunday, March 26, 2023
  • Steve Hixson

After a fuel violation on the perceived winner Brian Smith of Kentucky, Delano Tennessee's Matt Shannon inherited Saturday night's United Championship Racing Alliance presented by Red Line Synthetic Oil "Jim Arnwine Memorial" victory.

The first 28 of 40 laps of the $3,011 to win race was dominated by Josh Collins from his pole position starting spot, until the fan blade broke on his machine. Collins would finish 16th overall. Winner Shannon driving his #15 "SyMyCapital, MSR, Mike Fruser Plumbing" sponsored racecar started 10th alongside Alabama's Kasey Hall, whom would be credited 6th overall.

Hall a.k.a. The Hurricane, exits Tazewell as the unofficial points leader of the UCRA, narrowly over winner Shannon and previous winner, Marty Lunsford, whom took the Bama Brawl a few weeks ago at Fort Payne Motor Speedway.

Defending and two time series champion Kenny Kizzar of Sale Creek was credited with a 9th place finish. Local racer Brad Lewelling and former two time UCRA champion, Rusty Ballinger would be credited with second and third respectfully. Local racer Clyde Overholt and Joshua Chesney rounded out the top five.

The next UCRA event sees a return to Fort Payne Motor Speedway, Saturday, April 15, as part of "Marvin, Ford's Birthday Bash Tribute weekend.

Chattanooga FC Women Unveil 2024 Addidas Kits
Chattanooga FC Women Unveil 2024 Addidas Kits
  • 5/23/2024

Ahead of the team's 2024 Women's Premier Soccer League (WPSL) season, Chattanooga FC Women unveiled its entire line of adidas kits on Wednesday. The club released three kits along with two ... more

Lee Golf Battling To Finish In Final Eight Of National Championship
  • 5/23/2024

The Lee University men’s golf team will be fighting to stay alive when play continues in the final 18 holes of the 54-hole NCAA DII National Championship being played at the Orange County National ... more

Danny Green Chasing 20th TGA Title At Super Senior Four-Ball Championship
  • 5/22/2024

There’s not much that Danny Green hasn’t accomplished during his illustrious amateur golf career. The 2009 inductee into the Tennessee Golf Hall of Fame has compiled a list of wins that few in ... more