Record 13 SEC Teams Headed For Bowls

Sunday, December 5, 2021
A record 13 Southeastern Conference football teams learned their post-season bowl destinations on Sunday, including two teams in the College Football Playoff semifinals and a total of three teams in the CFP’s New Year’s Six Games.
 
No. 1-ranked Alabama will play No. 4 Cincinnati in a CFP semifinal game at the Goodyear Cotton Bowl in Arlington while No. 3-ranked Georgia will play No. 2 Michigan in the other CFP semifinal at the Capital One Orange Bowl. Both CFP semifinal games will be played on December 31.
 
In another New Year’s Six Game, Ole Miss will be the SEC’s representative in the Allstate Sugar Bowl on January 1, facing Big 12 opponent Baylor.
 
On Sunday, the College Football Playoff committee first selected teams for the national semifinal games, the Capital One Orange Bowl and the Goodyear Cotton Bowl Classic.  The committee later announced the participants in the Allstate Sugar Bowl, Rose Bowl Game presented by Capital One Venture X, Chick-fil-A Peach Bowl, and Playstation Fiesta Bowl.
 
Next, the VRBO Citrus Bowl selected Kentucky from the SEC to play Iowa of the Big Ten.
 
This marks the eighth year the Conference has assigned league schools to an “SEC Bowl Pool” that includes six postseason games.
The SEC Bowl Pool includes the TaxAct Texas Bowl in Houston, the TransPerfect Music City Bowl in Nashville, the AutoZone Liberty Bowl in Memphis, the TaxSlayer Gator Bowl in Jacksonville and the Outback Bowl in Tampa and the Duke’s Mayo Bowl in Charlotte.
 
The SEC Bowl Pool participants are determined after conversations with bowl partners and discussions with school personnel in order to create a lineup of compelling bowl games. This process, as approved by the institutions of the SEC, provides an opportunity to create intriguing matchups and varying assignments to help prevent repetitive postseason destinations.
 
Tennessee will play in the TransPerfect Music City Bowl, Arkansas will play in the Outback Bowl, Texas A&M will play in the TaxSlayer Gator Bowl, LSU will play in the TaxAct Texas Bowl, Mississippi State will play in the AutoZone Liberty Bowl and South Carolina will play in the Duke’s Mayo Bowl.
 
Following the SEC Bowl Pool, the TicketSmarter Birmingham Bowl chose Auburn, the Union Home Mortgage Gasparilla Bowl in Tampa selected Florida and the Lockheed Martin Armed Forces Bowl in Fort Worth chose Missouri.
 

 
COLLEGE FOOTBALL PLAYOFF BOWLS
 
  • Goodyear Cotton Bowl (Arlington) – Alabama vs. Cincinnati – Dec. 31 – 3:30 pm ET / 2:30 pm CT - ESPN
  • Capital One Orange Bowl (Miami) – Georgia vs. Michigan – Dec. 31 – 7:30 pm ET / 6:30 pm CT – ESPN
  • Allstate Sugar Bowl (New Orleans) – Ole Miss vs. Baylor – Jan. 1 – 8:45 pm ET / 7:45 pm CT - ESPN
 
SEC-AFFILIATED BOWLS:
 
  • VRBO Citrus Bowl (Orlando) – Kentucky vs. Iowa – Jan. 1 – 1 pm ET / Noon CT – ABC
 
SEC Bowl Pool:
 
  • AutoZone Liberty Bowl (Memphis) – Mississippi State vs. Big 12 – Dec. 28 – 6:45 pm ET / 5:45 pm CT – ESPN
  • Duke’s Mayo Bowl (Charlotte) – South Carolina vs. ACC – Dec. 30 – 11:30 am ET / 10:30 am CT - ESPN
  • TransPerfect Music City Bowl (Nashville) – Tennessee vs. Big Ten - Dec. 30 – 3 pm ET / 2 pm CT – ESPN
  • TaxSlayer Gator Bowl (Jacksonville) – Texas A&M vs. ACC – Dec. 31 – 11 am ET / 10 am CT – ESPN
  • Outback Bowl (Tampa) –Arkansas vs. Big Ten – Jan. 1 – Noon ET / 11 am CT – ESPN2
  • TaxAct Texas Bowl (Houston) – LSU vs. Big 12 – Jan. 4 – 9 pm ET / 8 pm CT – ESPN
 
Additional SEC-Affiliated Bowls:
 
  • Lockheed Martin Armed Forces Bowl (Fort Worth) – Missouri vs. Independent – Dec. 22 – 8 pm ET / 7 pm CT – ESPN
  • Union Home Mortgage Gasparilla Bowl (Tampa) – Florida vs. AAC – Dec. 23 – 7 pm ET / 6 pm CT – ABC
  • TicketSmarter Birmingham Bowl (Birmingham) – Auburn vs. AAC – Dec. 28 – Noon ET/11 am CT - ESPN

Crumly Scored 31 In Loss To Visiting LaGrange

UTC Women Open Tennis Season With 5-2 Win

Host Piedmont Take Down Lady Scots 79-46


Will Crumly scored a season-high 31 points, but LaGrange's Bershard Edwards spoiled Crumly's big night with a go-ahead jumper with 4.7 seconds left to give the visiting Panthers a 62-60 win over ... (click for more)

The Chattanooga Mocs women's tennis team opened up the season with a 5-2 victory over Jacksonville State on Friday evening at the Strang-Voges Tennis Center held on the campus of The McCallie ... (click for more)

The Covenant women's basketball team could not overcome host Piedmont in a 79-46 setback on Friday evening inside Cave Arena in USA South action. Ruthie Moore had 17 points, five rebounds, ... (click for more)



Sports

Crumly Scored 31 In Loss To Visiting LaGrange

Will Crumly scored a season-high 31 points, but LaGrange's Bershard Edwards spoiled Crumly's big night with a go-ahead jumper with 4.7 seconds left to give the visiting Panthers a 62-60 win over the Covenant men's basketball team on Friday night. The loss was the first in USA South play for Covenant (7-5, 2-1 USA South). Crumly registered his sixth career 30-point outing ... (click for more)

UTC Women Open Tennis Season With 5-2 Win

The Chattanooga Mocs women's tennis team opened up the season with a 5-2 victory over Jacksonville State on Friday evening at the Strang-Voges Tennis Center held on the campus of The McCallie School. Following the victory, Chattanooga opens the season 1-0. Jacksonville State falls to 0-2 on the season after the defeat. "The ladies competed well tonight. Jacksonville State ... (click for more)

Breaking News

Pikeville Man Charged With Harassment Of Bledsoe County Judge

Special agents from the Tennessee Bureau of Investigation have obtained arrest warrants charging a Pikeville man accused of harassing a judge in Bledsoe County. At the request of 12th District Attorney General J. Michael Taylor, TBI agents began investigating threatening messages sent to a Bledsoe County judge. During the course of the investigation, it was determined Robert ... (click for more)

Former Tennessee Clinic Owner Sentenced To 168 Months For Opioid Distribution

Mark Daniel Allen, 64, of Venice, Fla., was sentenced on Friday to 168 months in prison and $700 in special assessments, followed by three years of supervised released, by Judge Travis R. McDonough.. Allen was found guilty of six counts of unlawfully distributing controlled substances and one count of maintaining a drug-involved premises after a three-day trial in Chattanooga, ... (click for more)

Opinion

Great Service From The Hamilton County Health Department Hotline - And Response

My wife woke up this morning and thought she might have COVID. We called the Hamilton County Heath Department hotline and someone answered on the third ring. Not a voice mail, a real person. She told us they they were already out of their supply for rapid testing but recommended two pharmacies, one on Highway 58 and one on Hixson Pike. We chose the one on 58. A pharmacist ... (click for more)

I Remember Chattanooga’s First March For Life

This Saturday, Jan. 22, 2022, Greater Chattanooga Right to Life will hold its March for Life assembling at 10:30 a.m. at the Coolidge Park Pavilion. I hope you will attend. I remember the first March for Life in Chattanooga held 35 years ago on Jan. 22, 1987. The march consisted of 14 people: Dan Martino, Doyle Ratterree and his wife who was carrying their infant daughter in ... (click for more)