Clumpies Ice Cream Company is opening its third year-round scoop shop inside the Grand Hotel building at 1401 Market St. in the former English Tea Room. The store plans to open to the public this May.
“As we continue to grow, we are determined to push the envelope and always look for a way to make the best ice cream around,” said Doug Chapin, senior manager of Clumpies.
“We have an amazing pastry chef, Ashley Bottoms, who came to us from the Biltmore in Asheville and Barista Parlor in Nashville. Her creativity and experience has allowed us to continually develop new and exciting products and flavors that we would have been unable to make a reality before.”
In 2013, See Rock City (SRC), Inc. purchased Clumpies from Marshall Brock, whose family owned and operated Brock Candy until its sale in the nineties. Doug Chapin is the son of SRC CEO and owner Bill Chapin.
Clumpies has two other year-round stores, one on NorthShore and the other in St. Elmo at the lower station of the Incline Railway, as well as a seasonal shop next to the Battles for Chattanooga museum. A brand new production site located two blocks from the Tennessee Riverpark Wheland Foundry Trailhead has also been completed, quadrupling in size from the previous kitchen. It includes a fully furnished bakery area with extended capabilities to bring all processing in-house. Future plans are being developed for tours and event programming in this space.
Mr. Chapin is working with Thomas Palmer and Brandi Reagan at Cogent Studio on the new shop design, as well as Matt Sears of Haskell Sears Design for the shop buildout.