Chickamauga Chapter DAR Announces Awards To Chattanooga Area Students

  • Friday, June 14, 2024
Gayle Burrows, regent of Chickamauga Chapter National Society Daughters of the American Revolution in Chattanooga, announced the following awards which have been presented to area students. The Chapter’s Local Schools Committee led by First Vice Regent Trish Mullins managed the various awards’ selection processes and school presentations with the assistance of the following committee members: Cindy Dearing, Lee Parham, Marilyn Long, Elaine Robinson, Mary Evans, Kathy Holloway and Christine Holmes.

The DAR American History Committee annually conducts the DAR History Essay Contest for grades nine-12.
This year’s essay topic was “Patriots of the American Revolution." The local winner received a medal and certificate. Both students received a $50 check. Rising senior recipients were:

Hannah Gleason - Soddy Daisy High School - First Place
Sharon Cheng - Soddy Daisy High School - Runner-Up

The DAR Good Citizen Award, for high school seniors, recognizes outstanding young people who exhibit the qualities of good citizenship in their homes, schools and communities with qualities such as dependability (truthfulness, honesty, punctuality), service (cooperation, helpfulness, responsibility), leadership (personality, self-control, initiative) and patriotism (unselfish loyalty to American ideals). Receiving a pin, certificate and $75 check were:

Sabriyah Stallion - Chattanooga Girls Leadership Academy
Ella Green - Chattanooga Christian Upper School
Sadie Pacenti - Girls Preparatory School
Shawn Tyler - Soddy Daisy High School

The DAR National Defense Committee presents Youth Citizenship Awards to Students who represent the qualities of honor, service, courage, leadership and patriotism. Awards are presented to fifth and eighth grade students who receive a medal and certificate.

Fifth Grade Winners:
Carlee Ann Park - Allen Elementary
Aalayah Michelle Holiday - Chattanooga Charter Elementary
Sonia Lopez Vasquez - Clifton Hills Elementary
Clara McDowell - Fairyland Elementary
Olivia Brown - Snow Hill Elementary
Marilyn Trogden - Woodmore Elementary
Madelyn Cruz Hernandez - Wolftever Creek Elementary

Eighth Grade Winners:
Patrick Rice - Baylor Middle School
Landon Asbury - Chattanooga Christian Middle School
Kalauni Neely - Chattanooga Charter Middle School
Genesis Lucas Godinez - Chattanooga Girls Leadership Academy
Ann Boehm - Girls Preparatory Middle School

The DAR National Defense Committee also presents a JROTC Bronze Medal and certificate to a rising senior JROTC cadet. This year’s award winners is:

Ella Bogges - Soddy Daisy High School

Approximately 3,000 local DAR Chapters across America interact with their area schools in support of the NSDAR mission to promote historic preservation, education and patriotism.
Student Scene
Lee’s Bradford, Ung Present At ACA Conference
  • 7/18/2024

Lee University’s Dr. La-Juan Bradford and Dr. Kevin Ung presented at the Appalachian College Association’s Teaching and Leadership Institute, held at Maryville College in Maryville, Tn. Each ... more

Chattanooga State VP Dr. Quincy Jenkins Joins Leadership Tennessee NEXT Emerging Leaders
  • 7/18/2024

Chattanooga State Community College’s Dr. Quincy Jenkins has been named an Emerging Leader with the Leadership Tennessee NEXT Class IX Program. Dr. Jenkins is one of 32 members in Class ... more

GNTC Honors Electrical Lineworker Program Graduates For Summer 2024
GNTC Honors Electrical Lineworker Program Graduates For Summer 2024
  • 7/18/2024

Ten students graduated on Wednesday from Georgia Northwestern Technical College’s Electrical Lineworker program during a ceremony at GNTC’s Polk County Campus in Rockmart. The students experienced ... more