Cleveland State Athletes Receive Ends of Year Awards

  • Tuesday, June 6, 2023

Seven Cleveland State student athletes from five different teams were recognized by Cleveland State Athletics for their abilities to represent their scholastic accomplishments, athleticism, sportsmanship and citizenship to the highest level of success.

The awards appropriately named for previous inspirational educational leaders at Cleveland State represents the true spirit of determination, drive, discipline and accountability of the collegiate student athlete.

Dr. George Mathis Scholastic Award
Three sophomores earned recognition for their academic achievement and received the Dr. George Mathis Scholastic Award. Recipients included: Madison Husted from Volleyball along with Baseball players Bryce Burkey and Ben Smith.

L. Quentin Lane Sportsmanship Award
Two sophomores, one each from Women and Men’s Basketball were worth recipients of the L.
Quentin Lane Sportsmanship Award. The honorees were Destiny Remy and K’Juan Banks.

D. F. Adkisson Male Athlete of the Year Award
Receiving the prestigious D. F. Adkisson Male Athlete of the year Award it was Bryce Burkey again from Baseball earning recognition for his athletic performance during the course of his sophomore year.

Hugh Walker Female Athlete of the Year Award
Two student athlete women both sophomores excelled on the court and the field of play each earning the Hugh Walker Female Athlete of the year Award: Tionna Baker from Women’s Basketball and Hope Ingle from Softball.

Athletics Director Mike Policastro said: “It is a privilege to award student athletes each year for elite accomplishments in the areas of academics, athletic performance and sportsmanship. Each 2022-2023 award recipient is worthy of recognition and I would like to congratulate each one of them. They indeed are representative of the honor they received and the educator that inspired the award.”

Ryon Wins Individual Points Play At Brainerd Tuesday
  • 6/19/2024

On Tuesday, June 18, in Individual Points play at Brainerd, the winners were: 1st: Carlene Ryon +15 2nd: Sue Anne Tinker +14 3rd: Kathy Vaughn +13 4th: Shanna Jenkins +12 5th: Patty ... more

Mocs Football And Soccer Renew Agreement With Stadium Corporation
  • 6/18/2024

The Chattanooga Mocs agreed with the Stadium Corporation to extend their football and soccer stays in Finley Stadium another five years with an option for a sixth. The Stadium Corporation announced ... more

Chattanooga Volleyball Releases 2024 Schedule
  • 6/17/2024

The Chattanooga indoor volleyball team has officially released its 31-match schedule for the upcoming 2024 season, as announced by head coach Julie Torbett Thomas on Monday. Consisting of ... more