U.S. Soccer Selects Chattanooga Football Club To Host 2nd Round Of 2022 Lamar Hunt U.S. Open Cup At Finley Stadium

  • Monday, February 28, 2022

U.S. Soccer has announced dates and times for matches in the Second Round of the 2022 Lamar Hunt U.S. Open Cup – U.S. Soccer’s National Championship.

Chattanooga Football Club will host USL Championship team Memphis 901 FC at 7:00 p.m., April 7 at Finley Stadium. Admission is included in the 2022 Annual Pass.

Single game tickets will be available soon at CFCTIX.com.

23 Division II and 23 Division III pro teams will see their first tournament action starting in the Second Round, joining 16 winners from the previous stage in a week that will feature a modern-record 31 matches in a single round. All 31 games will be broadcast live on ESPN+. 

The Second Round begins on Tuesday, April 5, with 11 matches, followed by another 12 games on Wednesday, April 6. The round concludes on Thursday, April 7, with seven more contests. The Northern California match between Bay Cities FC (NISA) and Monterey Bay (USL Championship) will be played at a date, time and location to be determined. 

The 46 professional teams include 23 from the USL Championship (Division II), two from MLS NEXT Pro (Division III), 10 from the National Independent Soccer Association (Division III) and 11 from USL League One (Division III). They will be joined in the Second Round by the 16 Open Division winners from the First Round, set for March 22-23.

As a result of competition parameters and the hosting draw for the Second Round, eight games of the 31 matchups will see First Round winners against Division II clubs, eight First Round winners taking on Division III sides, while Division II vs. Division III will be on the marquee for 15 contests. 

17 lower-seeded U.S.-based Division I Major League Soccer clubs will enter in the Third Round, which will be played April 19-21, while the remaining eight MLS sides will take the field in their first Open Cup action in the Round of 32, which takes place May 10-11.

Home teams for each round are determined by random selection among those who apply to host. Clubs whose venue meets minimum tournament standards are given priority.

In its 107th edition, the Lamar Hunt U.S. Open Cup – U.S. Soccer's National Championship – has crowned a champion since 1914 in every year except 2020 and 2021. The history-filled tournament is conducted on a single-game-knockout basis and open to all professional and amateur teams affiliated with U.S. Soccer. In 1999, the oldest ongoing national soccer competition in the United States was renamed to honor American soccer pioneer Lamar Hunt.

The 2022 U.S. Open Cup winner will earn $300,000 in prize money, a berth in the 2023 Concacaf Champions League and have its name engraved on the Dewar Challenge Trophy – one of the oldest nationally-contested trophies in American team sports – now on permanent display at the National Soccer Hall of Fame in Frisco, Texas. The runner-up will earn $100,000, while the team that advances the furthest from each lower division will take home a $25,000 cash prize.

Atlanta United FC is the defending Open Cup champion, having earned the club's first tournament title thanks to a 2-1 victory against Minnesota United FC on Aug. 27, 2019, in front of an Open Cup Final record 35,709 fans at Mercedes-Benz Stadium in Atlanta.

Chattanooga FC Women Unveil 2024 Addidas Kits
Chattanooga FC Women Unveil 2024 Addidas Kits
  • 5/23/2024

Ahead of the team's 2024 Women's Premier Soccer League (WPSL) season, Chattanooga FC Women unveiled its entire line of adidas kits on Wednesday. The club released three kits along with two ... more

Lee Golf Battling To Finish In Final Eight Of National Championship
  • 5/23/2024

The Lee University men’s golf team will be fighting to stay alive when play continues in the final 18 holes of the 54-hole NCAA DII National Championship being played at the Orange County National ... more

Danny Green Chasing 20th TGA Title At Super Senior Four-Ball Championship
  • 5/22/2024

There’s not much that Danny Green hasn’t accomplished during his illustrious amateur golf career. The 2009 inductee into the Tennessee Golf Hall of Fame has compiled a list of wins that few in ... more