Education Organizations Launch The Tennessee Digital Resources Library Free On iTunes U

  • Tuesday, July 12, 2016

The Tennessee School Boards Association, in partnership with the Tennessee Organization of School Superintendents (TOSS), Tennessee Association of Supervision and Curriculum Development (TASCD), the Tennessee Educational Technology Association (TETA) and the American Public Education Foundation launched the Tennessee Digital Resources Library (TDRL) today, making digital educational content available free on iTunes U.
“We are very excited about the launch of the digital library and believe it will be a tremendous resource for our educators and students.

The library was developed by Tennessee teachers curating digital learning resources for Tennessee high school courses that are aligned to Tennessee standards for Tennessee students,” TSBA Executive Director Dr. Tammy Grissom said.
The Tennessee Digital Resources Library was created because TSBA and its partners wanted to embrace the potential offered by digital technology for the sharing of content in the classrooms of Tennessee and engage students with a delivery method that inspires their natural curiosity and parallels the world in which they function outside the classroom.  Boards of education spend a significant amount of money on textbooks that are often obsolete even before they reach our students.  By utilizing these free, modifiable learning resources and making them available on iTunes U, Boards can use textbook money on devices and technology infrastructure.   The Tennessee Digital Resources Library is designed to help school districts use and share open educational resources, which are aligned to Tennessee standards thus helping our teachers as they deliver content in the classrooms. 
The digital library was created by utilizing the talents of our Tennessee teachers.   Beginning in August 2015, teachers from across the state curated digital learning materials for the following fourteen high school courses: Algebra I and II; Biology; Chemistry; Economics; English I, II, III and IV; Geometry; Government; Physical Science; U.S. and World History.   Below is a list of teachers who participated in the project:

  • Anita Adkins, Cleveland
  • Amanda Arnold, Kingsport
  • Brenda Ball, Metro-Nashville
  • Justin Barton, Hawkins County
  • Myles Beaupre, Collierville
  • Paul Blair, Hawkins County
  • Robert Bolding, Collierville
  • Susan Bothman, Knox County
  • Brian Brewer, Bartlett
  • Misty Brown, Knox County
  • Lisa Casey, Clarksville-Montgomery County
  • Sheree Cumberlander, Metro-Nashville
  • Sara Dorris-Billingsley, Jackson-Madison County
  • Darryl Fannon, Knox County
  • Paula Franklin, Knox County
  • Amanda Frazier, Hamblen County
  • Ken Freeman, Clarksville-Montgomery County
  • Tiffany Gholston, Marion County
  • Courtney Gillespie, Collierville
  • Chasitie Goodman, Metro-Nashville
  • William Graham , Collierville
  • Christopher Greene, Hamblen County
  • Jonelle Greer, Metro-Nashville
  • Jessica Hayworth, Kingsport
  • Angela Hoath, Maury County
  • Sara Hodge, Collierville
  • Caroline Howard, Bartlett
  • Holly Hunter, Rutherford County
  • Stacy Jones, McNairy County
  • Pam Kreidenweis, Franklin County
  • Justin Lambert, Clarksville-Montgomery County
  • Karen Lawson, Tullahoma
  • Amy Lyttle, Knox County
  • Krista Mann, Hawkins County
  • Lindsay May, Collierville
  • Larissa   McCoy, Collierville
  • Ashley McCullar, Collierville
  • Ashley McDonald, Clarksville-Montgomery County
  • Whitney Meriwether, Collierville
  • Terrance Moore, Collierville
  • Tressie  Norton, Knox County
  • Sara Jane Pickett, Franklin County
  • Bonnie  Principe, Clarksville-Montgomery County
  • William Pszonak, Collierville
  • Erin Rife, Clarksville-Montgomery County
  • Elishea  Roberts, Marion County
  • Ashley Rust, White County
  • Kimberly Stewart, Dyer County
  • Susan Sudberry, Tullahoma
  • Cynthia Tatum, Milan Special
  • Megan Trahan, Collierville
  • Tamela Underwood, Collierville
  • Dena Upton, Warren County
  • Rhonda Utt, Hamblen County
  • Alicia Walker, Franklin County
  • Dane Weaver, Jackson-Madison County
  • Joel Wilhite, Arlington
  • Charles Williams, Metro-Nashville

    Visit or iTunes U to access the course materials. You can also access the material by visiting the TSBA website at and clicking on TDRL. 

  • A special thanks to David Pickler, president of the American Public Education Foundation, for providing stipends and iPad Airs to all teachers that worked on curating these digital materials.
    Student Scene
    Hamilton County 4-H Announces Results Of Countywide 4-H Demonstration Contest At UTC
    • 4/18/2024

    Fourth and fifth grade students from across Hamilton County gathered at the UTC University Center on March 24 for the 2024 Hamilton County 4-H Demonstration Contest. More than 70 first-place ... more

    Cleveland State Provides HVAC Bootcamp
    Cleveland State Provides HVAC Bootcamp
    • 4/18/2024

    Cleveland State Community College Workforce Development provided a HVAC Bootcamp this month in the Cleveland State HVAC Lab at the Partners in Industry and Education (PIE) Center in Cleveland. ... more

    Lee Student Receives Prestigious 2024 Goldwater Scholarship
    Lee Student Receives Prestigious 2024 Goldwater Scholarship
    • 4/17/2024

    Lee University's Ethan Ramey, a junior biology major with ecology/environmental emphasis, has received the national Goldwater Scholarship, awarded to college students who intend to pursue research ... more