Cleveland City Schools Announces Teachers, Principal, And Supervisor Of The Year

  • Thursday, November 16, 2023

Cleveland City Schools announced the Teachers, Principal, and Supervisor of the Year for the 2023-2024 academic year.

Officials said, "These individuals showcase excellence and dedication within the educational community. Alongside district-level winners, outstanding educators from various schools were also honored for their exemplary contributions." 

District Winners:
Teacher of the Year: Sonjia Norman, Elementary School
- With an impressive 27 years of teaching experience, Sonjia Norman is a dedicated 3rd-grade teacher at Blythe-Bower Elementary School. Her extensive tenure reflects a wealth of knowledge and expertise, evident in her passionate commitment to educating and inspiring young minds in the classroom.

Teacher of the Year: Megan McClellan, Cleveland Middle School 
- Megan McClellan is a 6th-grade math and science instructor in her sixth year of teaching at Cleveland Middle School. Her commitment to creating an engaging learning environment highlights her passion for education, making a positive impact on her students' academic journeys.

 Teacher of the Year: Ivan Migovich, Cleveland High School 
- Mr. Ivan Migovich is a dedicated special education teacher at Cleveland High School, marking his 10th year in teaching. His commitment to building relationships with students contributes to their successes in a meaningful way.

Principal of the Year: Bob Pritchard, Cleveland High School 
- Mr. Bob Pritchard, a dedicated educator, has been with Cleveland City Schools since 2012, serving as a math teacher, instructional facilitator, and assistant principal at both Mayfield Elementary and Cleveland High School. A lifelong resident of Bradley County, he has demonstrated a deep commitment to education and community involvement. 

 Supervisor of the Year: Dr. Cody Raper, Innovation
- Dr. Cody Raper, Director of Innovation for Cleveland City Schools, is an experienced technology professional with a doctorate in education. He previously served as a teacher and BLADE Facilitator at Cleveland Middle School, showcasing a hands-on commitment to technology integration. Dr. Raper's leadership has been instrumental in advancing technological initiatives within the school district.

School-Level Winners:

Arnold Memorial Elementary: Tracy Lenz
Blythe Bower Elementary: Sonjia Norman
Candy’s Creek Cherokee Elementary: Angela Gardner
Cleveland Middle School: Jonathan Burger, Megan McClellan, and Amy Trabold
Cleveland High School: Ivan Migovich, Jo Miles, and Susan Rodriguez
Mayfield Elementary: Yolanda Edwards
Ross Elementary: Kaylee Vaught
Stuart Elementary: Lindsey Laudermilk
Yates Primary: Tyler Ownbey

Each school-level honoree was recognized for their remarkable dedication and positive impact within their respective educational communities.

Dr. Russell Dyer, director of Cleveland City Schools, said, "These educators represent the very core of our district's commitment to academic excellence and student success. Their unwavering dedication and passion for education are truly commendable."

These winners, both at the district and school levels, will continue to represent Cleveland City Schools, at the regional and state level. 

Student Scene
Entrepreneur Seeks Degree At GNTC
Entrepreneur Seeks Degree At GNTC
  • 7/22/2024

A Georgia Northwestern Technical College (GNTC) student is studying Business Technology more than 20 years after receiving her High School Equivalency through GNTC. Amanda Chadwell, 42, was ... more

Lee Nursing Grad Serves In Tanzania
Lee Nursing Grad Serves In Tanzania
  • 7/19/2024

Claire Touliatos, a May graduate from Lee University’s School of Nursing, has returned from Tanzania where she had the opportunity to learn about their culture and educate the women on healthcare. ... more

Lee’s Bradford, Ung Present At ACA Conference
  • 7/18/2024

Lee University’s Dr. La-Juan Bradford and Dr. Kevin Ung presented at the Appalachian College Association’s Teaching and Leadership Institute, held at Maryville College in Maryville, Tn. Each ... more