Hamilton County Superintendent Bryan Johnson Joins Chiefs For Change

  • Tuesday, April 20, 2021

Hamilton County Schools Superintendent Bryan Johnson is among four new members announced by Chiefs for Change today, a bipartisan network of state and district education leaders.  The leaders are:

• Bryan Johnson, Superintendent of Hamilton County Schools in Tennessee;

Tammy Campbell, Superintendent of Federal Way Public Schools in Washington;

Monica Goldson, CEO of Prince George’s County Public Schools in Maryland; and

Diana Greene, Superintendent of Duval County Public Schools in Florida. 
“We are pleased to welcome these distinguished educators into our community of leaders,” said Chiefs for Change Board Chair and San Antonio Independent School District Superintendent Pedro Martinez. “Covid-19 has taken a tremendous toll on children and families, but these leaders, like others in our network, have persevered with a deep commitment to the communities they serve. The chiefs are helping to ensure that students emerge from the pandemic with the support they need to succeed in the classroom and beyond.” 

Chiefs for Change’s top priority during this time is getting all students safely back into the classroom for in-person learning. The network established communities of practice immediately after schools closed last spring. Members meet virtually on a regular basis to discuss the work in their systems. Based on chiefs’ insights and promising practices in their states and districts, Chiefs for Change has created tools and resources to support education systems in reopening schools, accelerating student learning, expanding access to college and meaningful careers and closing the digital divide. 

Members are united around a core set of beliefs and advance policies and practices that make a difference for students. The chiefs have worked to expand school choice initiatives, promote the use of high-quality instructional materials and create reliable and affordable postsecondary pathways.

There are currently 43 Chiefs for Change members, 36 of whom are actively serving as chiefs. Of that group, 29 are district chiefs and seven are state chiefs. Fifty-six percent of members are leaders of color, and 42 percent are women. The members are:

Rob Anderson: Superintendent of Boulder Valley School District, Colorado
Katy Anthes: Commissioner of Education, Colorado
Sharon Contreras: Superintendent of Guilford County Schools, North Carolina
Susana Cordova: Former Superintendent of Denver Public Schools, Colorado
Mary Elizabeth Davis: Superintendent of Henry County Schools, Georgia
John Deasy: Former Superintendent of Stockton Unified School District, California
Paolo DeMaria: Superintendent of Public Instruction, Ohio
Susan Enfield: Superintendent of Highline Public Schools, Washington
Donald Fennoy: Superintendent of The School District of Palm Beach County, Florida
Lewis Ferebee: Chancellor of District of Columbia Public Schools, District of Columbia
Chad Gestson: Superintendent of Phoenix Union High School District, Arizona
Deborah Gist: Superintendent of Tulsa Public Schools, Oklahoma
LaTonya Goffney: Superintendent of Aldine Independent School District, Texas
Eric Gordon: CEO of Cleveland Metropolitan School District, Ohio
T. Lamar Goree: Superintendent of Caddo Parish Public Schools, Louisiana
Errick Greene: Superintendent of Jackson Public Schools, Mississippi
William Hite: Superintendent of The School District of Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Millard House II: Director of Schools at Clarksville-Montgomery County School System, Tennessee
Angélica Infante-Green: Commissioner of Elementary and Secondary Education, Rhode Island
Janice Jackson: CEO of Chicago Public Schools, Illinois 
Barbara Jenkins: Superintendent of Orange County Public Schools, Florida
Aleesia Johnson: Superintendent of Indianapolis Public Schools, Indiana
Michael Johnson: Commissioner of Education, Alaska
Kyla Johnson-Trammell: Superintendent of Oakland Unified School District, California
Hanseul Kang: Former State Superintendent of Education, District of Columbia
Christina Kishimoto: Superintendent, Hawaii State Department of Education
Henderson Lewis, Jr.: Superintendent of NOLA Public Schools, Louisiana
Pedro Martinez: Superintendent of San Antonio Independent School District, Texas
Scott Muri: Superintendent of Ector County Independent School District, Texas
Kunjan Narechania: Former CEO of the Recovery School District, Louisiana
Harrison Peters: State Turnaround Superintendent of Providence Public Schools, Rhode Island
Orlando Riddick: Former Superintendent of Midland Independent School District, Texas
Robert Runcie: Superintendent of Broward County Public Schools, Florida
Ian Saltzman: Superintendent of Everett Public Schools, Washington
Sonja Santelises: CEO of Baltimore City Public Schools, Maryland
Penny Schwinn: Commissioner of Education, Tennessee 
Elliot Smalley: Former Superintendent of South Carolina Public Charter School District, South Carolina
John White: Former State Superintendent of Education, Louisiana
Carey Wright: State Superintendent of Education, Mississippi

Student Scene
Oh, Canada: UTC Honors Student Lands Award To Head North For Summer Research
Oh, Canada: UTC Honors Student Lands Award To Head North For Summer Research
  • 2/3/2023

Junior Lake Best, a Brock Scholar and communication major at the University of Tennessee at Chattanooga, has been accepted into the Fulbright Canada Mitacs Globalink program—an international ... more

3rd Time Is The Charm For CSCC's Goldie Whaley
3rd Time Is The Charm For CSCC's Goldie Whaley
  • 2/3/2023

“I can’t do this; it’s not for me.” These were the words that Goldie Whaley uttered to herself, not once, but twice while attempting college. Ms. Whaley graduated from Cleveland High School ... more

Bryan College Establishes Jonathan Bacon Scholarship
  • 2/3/2023

Bryan College announces the establishment of a scholarship in memory of Jonathan. Gifts in his memory will help fund this scholarship. The Jonathan Bacon Scholarship will be awarded to a student ... more