Angie Teems, Steve Wilson Win In Walker County, Hart, Wilson Win Commission Seats

  • Wednesday, May 22, 2024

Angie Teems defeated incumbent County Commission Chairman Shannon Whitfield in Tuesday's election in Walker County.

Longtime Sheriff Steve Wilson held off a challenge from state Patrol Commander Don Stultz.

Ms. Teems, the former Walker County personnel director, had 5,574 votes to 3,802 for Mr. Whitfield.

Sheriff Wilson won 6,986 to 2,437.

Mr. Whitfield, whose family long operated Whitfield Oil in Walker County had earlier defeated Sole Commissioner Bebe Heiskell. He was in office when the sole commissioner form was abolished.

Brian Hart regained his District 3 commission seat, and Gene Wilson narrowly defeated Jamey Hulsey for the District 4 post.

It was Hart 1,628, Melvin Von Moody 613 and Courtney Johnson 246.

Mr. Wilson had 1,325 votes to 1,225 for Mr. Hulsey.

Billy Sims retained the coroner post, defeating Dewayne Wilson 6,027 to 3,102.

Breaking News
Latest Hamilton County Arrest Report
  • 6/14/2024

Here is the latest Hamilton County arrest report. (If your case is dismissed, just email us your name and date we ran it and we will promptly take off. Email to ) ANDERSON, ... more

Lookout Mountain, Tn. Residents May Face Continuing Tax Increases
  • 6/13/2024

The budget for the town of Lookout Mountain, Tn. was passed on the final reading at the June commission meeting. There will be a five percent property tax increase this year, and Mayor Walker ... more

Election Commission Approves Sample Ballot For Aug. 1 Election; Early Voting Is July 12-27
  • 6/13/2024

The Election Commission has approved the sample ballot for the Aug. 1 election and placed them on their website here . The ballot includes several contested school board race as well as the ... more